The Attorneys-General and Commissioners for Justice of the 36 states have elected the Attorney General of Lagos State, Mr. Moyosore Onigbanjo SAN) as the interim chairman of the executive committee.

Onigbanjo was elected during the Forum’s inaugural meeting recently held on Monday at Abuja.

The forum also elected the Attorney General of Nasarawa State, Dr. Karim Kana as interim secretary amongst others.

The executive committee will run the affairs of the forum, arrange meetings, issue statements on behalf of all the 36 AGs, take positions on legal issues, advice the Attorney General of the Federation (AGF) and take legal action or review legal actions taken on behalf of all the States.

Part of the executive committee mandate includes the pursuit of true federalism, adherence to the constitution, rule of law, independence of the judiciary as well as liaison with the AGF on behalf of the states on legal issues.

Speakers at the maiden event includes the Governor of Plateau State who delivered the welcome address whilst a former Attorney General of the Federation, Kanu Agabi (SAN) delivered the keynote address.

The next meeting of the Attorneys-General of the 36 States of the Federation will hold in the second quarter of 2022.

Related Articles

Back to top button